Send Out the Smoke Patrol On These Adidas ‘HWCN’ Throwback Uniforms

First things first before we get to the actual meat and potatoes of this blog, I’m going to take a second and allow myself to introduce… Myself. I am the one they call Q-Ball, aka Q, aka Mike, aka whatever hopefully creative, probably derogatory nickname I will inevitably receive blogging for the Storm the Court Podcast. The other day Reags fired up a flare asking for help blogging for the site and I answered the call. So from here on out, I’ll be doing some part time writing for the podcast covering everything from the podcast itself to all the happenings this season to random college basketball nuggets I find worth sharing. If you’re a fellow college fan out there that listens to the podcast (if you aren’t what the fuck are you doing?) and you see something worth posting, feel free to get at me on Twitter @QuineTime and if I like what I see I’ll put it up on the site. If not, I’ll just ignore you and act like I never saw it. We good? Good.

Now, let’s get down to business

One thing you’ll find out about me in a hurry is that I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to sports gear. From the uniforms themselves all the way down to the shoelaces, I’ll often find myself passing unfair, and often wildly off based judgement solely due to what a particular player or team is sporting on gameday. Everyone knows that Nike is queen bee. Nike is far and away the best looking girl in class. She’s bad and she knows it and everyone wants a chance to get in on that action. Then you have Under Armour, the girl who grew up the ugly duckling, but has really changed her appearance as of late and is starting to get a ton of attention from all the guys. After that, you have the Reebok’s and Russell Athletic’s of the world who are basically the Designated Ugly Fat Friends (DUFF’s) of the crew who are just there because “they’re sooooo funny and have a great personality.” Then somewhere in the middle you have Adidas. Not the hottest one of the bunch, but certainly no slouch either. Normally I’m never really blown away with Adidas products and often find myself saying “meh” every time there’s a new uniform drop, but I can’t lie, these new throwbacks are SICK.

I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for throwbacks and these babies are really tugging at the strings. As a big time Louisville Cardinals fan, I’m loving the home and road alternates. This isn’t the first time the Cards have gone retro, the last couple years we’ve seen them pull out the ’86 championship throwbacks, but to my knowledge this is the first time we’ve seen them turn back the clock in the all black.

 

caRDStb

 

cardstb2

 

All black unis are always slick and if you don’t agree kindly go check your pants for a big, wet, stinking dump.

 

nebraska

 

Nebraska’s throwbacks are really bringing the heat as well. I couldn’t really tell you what year these are from and I can’t really say I’ve ever seen a Nebraska throwback before, but personally I love the old school N with the white stripes. Your boy Reags apparently doesn’t feel the same way…

 

reagstweet

 

Kansas’ threads are coming in hot per usual. I don’t know if it’s the blue and red color scheme or the Kansas basketball mystique or what, but it always seems like the Jayhawks have good uniforms. Let’s just hope these bad boys will bring Kansas a little more luck in the tourney then they’ve had the past couple years.

 

kansastb

 

kansastb2

 

Out of all the Adidas sponsored schools, I’m not sure how Mississippi State made the cut, but those things will look dope in the NIT this year.

 

misssttb

 

Lastly, Wisconsin rounds out this crop of uniforms nicely. I love the no frills design with the Badger logo on the shorts. Should work out nicely for a school that perennially runs out a team full of white boys year in and year out. Lunch pail uniforms for a lunch pail team.

 

wisconsontb

 

That’s all I could find for now. I guess we’ll have to wait and see whether or not Adidas will run out some more retro jerseys for some of their other flagship schools. Michigan usually ends up in the mix and although Miami is the new kid on the block, those Adidas reps have really been pushing them hard in the football world, especially for a team that had to fire their coach midseason. Stay tuned.

 

h/t- @conradburry

 

That’s all I got for now. I’ll try to get at least one of these posts up a day, but it might be a little slow at first seeing as the only basketball going on right now is just the blue bloods beating up on the Grand Valley State’s of the world.

Follow me on Twitter @QuineTime

 

 

Leave a Reply

